November 9, 2018 @ 8:00 pm – 11:00 pm

Music Box Presents:
Pete International Airport
The Spiral Electric (SF)


SPINDRIFT – www.spindriftwest.com
Spindrift is a cinematically-driven, psychedelic “western” rock band based out of Los Angeles, CA, led by singer-songwriter-producer-composer Kirpatrick Thomas. Among many various EP/Single releases, they’ve produced and released two feature films with soundtracks available on Teepee Records, (The Legend of God’s Gun, Ghost of the West), in addition to two full LP albums on Xemu Records, (Classic Soundtracks Vol 1, The West). SPINDRIFT has contributed to several film scores and soundtracks, most notably HBO’s “East Bound & Down”, Quentin Tarantino’s “Hell Ride”, and Viceland’s “Hamilton’s Pharmacopeia.”
The band has actively toured the U.S. and Europe since 2004 while performing with acts such as X, The Dandy Warhols, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Dead Meadow, The Black Angels, and Kurt Vile. They’ve helped ignite the psychedelic revival of the 2000’s, with highlighted performances being Austin Psych Fest, Roadburn Tilburg, Levitation, Liverpool Psych Fest, SXSW, and film screenings accompanied by performances at Park City’s Slamdance Film Festival and Spain’s Almerian Western Film Festival 2014, 2017. Members of the band have crossed over with other acts such as The Brian Jonestown Massacre, Psychic TV and have had strange collaborations with punk legend Jello Biafra on tunes such as “Ghost Riders in the Sky” during their Ghost Town Tour of 2012. A ambitious tour which was documented in the film “Ghost of the West”(Directed by Burke Roberts).
While in their formative years in the 1990’s, SPINDRIFT slowly developed their own mixture of sounds reminiscent of 60’s psychedelic rock like The Doors and 90’s shoegaze similar to My Bloody Valentine, however, while relocating from Newark, DE to Los Angeles in 2001, Thomas & Co. were captivated by the wide, expansive, unfolding western landscape and began to develop a more mature, conceptual approach to songwriting. Utilizing Ennio Morricone influenced chord progressions, spacey soprano vocals, twangy doubleneck bass/baritone guitar, and string section like guitar effects, their sound has evolved into that of a psychedelic, spaghetti western rock orchestra which continues to evolve with each film they score.
Most recently the band collaborated with Hollywood/Bollywood actor Bivas Biswas and actress Sapna Gandhi on the Hindi sung “Dil Gera Na De (Don’t Fall For Me)”. The new single is set to be released by Divine Droid Records in the United States and India with a new video directed by Mike Bruce (Noel Gallagher, The Legend of God’s Gun). The original East Coast lineup recently reunited to celebrate the release of the first 8 songs the band recorded (in Newark, Delaware) from 1991-1995 with a newly added studio tune “Cabin Fever,” through SDS distribution. Currently, the band is actively working on finishing the next studio release and continue to book US and European tours and Festivals.

Pete International Airport – www.peteinternationalairport.com
Pete International Airport is the brain child of Peter G. Holmström. It’s name is borrowed from a song title by his other band, The Dandy Warhols. Pete International Airport’s new album, Safer With The Wolves…, is a meticulously crafted psyche rock journey into the dark heart of electronica. The album’s 11 tracks feature guest singers from like-minded allies such as: The Black Angels, Daydream Machine, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Dark Horses, Hopewell, and more. It was released by A Recordings in November.

The live band consists of long-time collaborator Daniel Sparks, plus Tara Autovino and Jason Russo of Guiding Light.

XO – www.xotheband.net
XO are an American shoegaze/alternative rock band originally from Atlanta, Georgia that now reside in Long Beach, California. The band consists of twin brothers, Jeff (guitar, vocals) and Jake (bass, vocals) Turner, who once performed with the band Say Anything. Live, they are joined by drummer Alan Connor. Although the band formed in 2004, a year before the Turners joined Say Anything, so the band did not release any material under the moniker until 2008 – a six-track EP entitled Some Day and The Tokyo Single EP in 2009. Their debut album, Heart, was released in February 2014 via Rory Records, an imprint of Equal Vision Records run by Max Bemis of Say Anything.

In 2016, Jake and Jeff started their own label called Twin Waves Records. Releasing “TV You” in October 2017 and a live in-studio performance album, The Part Time Punks Sessions, that includes four My Bloody Valentine covers, and one unreleased song in August 2018. Now joined live by drummer and multi-instrumentalist, Alan Connor, expect a new album in 2019.

The Spiral Electric – www.facebook.com/TheSpiralElectric
The Spiral Electric initially began in San Francisco as a psychedelic guitar duo consisting of Clay Andrews (vocals, keyboards, guitar) and Nicolas Percey (lead guitar), and has shifted through various lineups over the years, releasing two EPs– “Upon Your Shore” in 2015, and “Ask the Sky” in 2016, both produced by Tommy Dietrick at his Skylab Studios in Los Angeles and Joshua Tree, CA. On the performance side of things, the band has toured up and down the US west coast playing shows at notable venues like Slim’s in San Francisco, the Catalyst in Santa Cruz, the Star Theatre in Portland, and at festivals like Starry Nites (with artists like The Kills, Black Mountain, & Lumerians), Desert Stars (with Swervedriver, Dead Meadow, & Entrance Band among others), and the Portland Psych Fest (with Spindrift, The Asteroid #4, the Veldt, and more).

The heavy touring has transformed the band from the loose, jangly sound of their earlier work into a darker, heavier creature. New rhythm section Michael Summers (bass) and Matias Drago (drums) join the core duo of Nicolas Percey (lead guitar) and Clay Andrews (vocals, guitar, keyboards) to crank up the tempo and push the volume beyond the Spiral Electric’s previous limits.

The Spiral Electric’s upcoming album is a double-vinyl package and expected 2019. The LP was produced by Steve Kille (Dead Meadow) and mastered by Howie Weinberg (Nirvana, Smashing Pumpkins, Ian Brown, The Mars Volta), and will be accompanied by more festival dates and a European tour.